Due to the severity of motor accidents most times, vehicle insurance is essential in the United States and violators may face the penalties. Vehicle insurance is to cover any financial liability or loss of vehicle that may arise if the vehicle got involved in a collision, causing property or physical damages. States demand that vehicle owners have a certain minimum level of liability insurance, so driving without insurance law is an offence in the country.
Driving Without Insurance Law
Driving without insurance law is driving a vehicle that is not insured or when the driver of a properly insured vehicle fails to have the proof of insurance. Motor vehicle owners pay a monthly fee called insurance premium to insurers and are provided with an insurance card to for a particular coverage period.
The insurance premium is determined by factors like type of vehicle, the primary location of the vehicle, the gender, and age of the driver as well as their driving history.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance Law
Some vehicle owners are uninsured due to the cost of premiums which seems to be on the high side for them, but the risk for driving without insurance is even costlier.
You could be held liable for the costs of injuries caused to other person or for the damage done to the property. And if you have don’t have sufficient money to cover for those cost you may lose your property for it.
Penalties for driving without insurance law vary by state. However here are some common penalties:
The driver’s license is suspended
The vehicle registration is suspended
The vehicle’s owner is giving traffic ticket, however the ticket might be dismissed if the vehicle owner can show proof of insurance with a particular period of time from the day of issuance of the ticket.
Hefty fines: These involve paying fines to reinstate the suspended vehicle license and registration as well as traffic ticket fines.
In some states traffic tickets fines are only issued to the person that caused the accident if he drives without insurance while other states may issue it just for driving uninsured.
In California, an uninsured vehicle owner may lose his license for up to four years if he gets involved in an accident. But he may be able to have it reinstated after a year if he can get insurance and pay for the reinstatement of his license. He may also have to file an SR-22 form to prove his financial responsibility.
Penalties in some states like Kansas, Georgia, D.C., Alaska, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan and Massachusetts include various jail time for offenders ranging from 10 days to 1 year.
There are different kinds of coverage such as injury coverage which a vehicle owner is required to carry for the injury of a person; death coverage for the death of a person and Property coverage for damages done to property.
Coverage can also be a combined single limit in which both property damage coverage and bodily injury coverage are under one single combined limit; or split limit in which the coverage are split accordingly.